Aldershot Constituency

Aldershot Constituency has a total electorate of approximately 73,000, a population of around 105,000 and comprises the towns of Aldershot, Farnborough, and Blackwater as well as the village of Hawley.

Member of Parliament

Conservative MP Leo Docherty has represented the constituency as Member of Parliament since June 2017. A former Scots Guardsman, Leo lives in Farnborough with his wife Lucy and their two young children. 

You can find out more about Leo, and his work as MP, on his website here.


All thirteen wards of Rushmoor Borough Council, as well as the wards of Blackwater and Hawley and part of Yateley East of Hart District Council, are contained within the constituency - and all are under the authority of Hampshire County Council. The vast majority of council representation in Aldershot is Conservative. 

Rushmoor Borough Council
As of May 2019, Rushmoor Borough Council has 39 members; 26 of which are Conservative, 11 Labour and 2 Liberal Democrat, with three individuals representing each ward. Rushmoor includes Aldershot Park, Manor Park, North Town, Rowhill and Wellington (Aldershot); and Cherrywood, Cove and Southwood, Empress, Fernhill, Knellwood, St Johns, St Marks and West Heath (Farnborough).

Hart District Council
Hart is run by a coalition between Community Campaign Hart (CCH) and the Liberal Democrats. Blackwater and Hawley, and Yateley East, are each represented by Liberal Democrats.

Hampshire County Council
As of May 2017, Conservative-controlled Hampshire County Council comprised 78 members. All five divisions within Rushmoor are represented by Conservatives, and the Yateley East and Blackwater division is represented by a Liberal Democrat.

You can find out more about your local Conservative Councillors here.